Image

Wow, I haven’t written in like a month. My bad. Anyway, I came across this photo today while Pinterest-ing [is that a word? If not, it should be]. It really struck me. I’ve been having a lot of sad days lately, being stuck in this 24-year-old rut. I’m old enough to hold a Bachelors degree, hold a full time job, and pay bills. But at the same time I’m still young. Too young to be married, too young to have children, too young to own a home; or so society tells me. So what am I supposed to do? WAIT. That’s unfortunate. I know I could travel, but I’m broke. Driving the thirty minutes it takes to get to work every day is about the extent of my traveling excitement. I guess it’s a good thing that my job allows me explore activities and events in and around the Columbus area. I spend most of my free time on Facebook and Pinterest. One is social media that sucks me in to the lives of those that I haven’t seen or talked to in years; rubbing in my face the happily married, the newly expecting or the perfect child[ren], and those that are traveling the world like their billionaires. The other is a virtual pin board where I spend countless hours dreaming up my perfect wedding, dream home, and future. Seriously, I think I’m addicted. What is wrong with me? Why can’t I just be happy with who I am and where I’m at in my life? Hell, I live with my best friend [we’ve been BFF’s since the 5th grade; how awesome is that?], I have an absolutely amazing boyfriend who I get to see more often than not, and I have two jobs that put most others to shame. So why am I so focused on doing what everyone else is doing? I can’t answer that. All I can say is that it’s okay to not be doing what everyone else is. My horoscope nailed it on the head this morning; it said…. “You are finally ready for a big change in your life. For the longest time you ignored it, subdued it, you drew boundaries and dared anyone to make you change. But now you are ready, willing and able and you are probably wondering why it isn’t happening. It will, when the time is right. In the meantime, prepare yourself for a bright future. It’s right on your horizon, waiting for the right moment to guide you forward. Find serenity in yourself, and let that be enough for now. Your big evolution will happen soon enough”. PERFECT. It is the wisdom I’ve been needing to hear. So, for now, I plan on focusing on me and finding serenity in the person I am at this stage of my life. I have accomplished many things at this young age, and I am very proud of myself. So that will have to be enough. Does anyone else feel this way? I’d love to hear your stories.

