Image

Wow, it has been entirely too long since I’ve updated. I guess that’s what working two jobs and having crazy hours will do to you. Anyway, my boyfriend and I have been reading this book called The Total Money Makeover by Dave Ramsey. I highly recommend it! Kenny has read it about 5 or 6 times (and he HATES reading!); I, on the other hand, have only read it once. But I borrowed the audio book from the library and now we listen to it in his car any time we go somewhere. It will make you feel silly, and it will make you realize how much common sense we as a society do not have about spending. Do you know that throughout your adult working life you make about two million dollars? Neither did I! Our problem is that we spend it on stupid things like new cars, toys, etc. and not enough on the necessities like food, housing, clothing. We are so convinced that we need credit to thrive in this world that we rack it up in the thousands. Ridiculous!  If we spent that time investing our money and paying off our debt, we’d be a much happier society. Now, I’m not saying this to bash…heck, I’ve racked up quite a few thousand dollars in debt thanks to student loans and a credit card. I, however, have read Dave’s book and am sick and tired of being sick and tired. I am taking a stand on September 1, 2012 and having a Total Money Makeover. Now, I’ve already started budgeting. I started the ‘envelope system’ (that Dave actually created, but I had no idea), and budgeting my spending for the month in to specific labeled envelopes. It went well! I went over budget, but I at least know how much I’ll be needing to spend per month on things like groceries, gas, toiletries, etc. Dave’s system includes ‘7 Baby Steps’; these steps WILL get you out of debt, one baby step at a time. Instead of listing the steps one by one on my blog, I’ll just give you the link and you can check it out for yourself. Have I got your mind thinking? Is this turning on a lightbulb somewhere upstairs? If so, I highly suggest you check out the link below and then read Dave’s Total Money Makeover. You won’t regret it. I can’t even begin to describe how excited I am to start this process, especially with Kenny by my side! Not too mention, it’s helping our relationship. We have already agreed that we’re not wasting our money on rent and will stay where we are until we are able to save enough money for half or all of a down payment on a house. It may take a year or two, but we will get there. It’s fun for both of us to have control and independence with our money and we’re able to bounce budget ideas off of one another. I can’t even imagine what a disaster it could’ve been if we had waited to do this if we get married. We were fortunate to realize we both have the same ideas about our spending and what we plan to spend it on in the future. My baby steps have one more added step, however, because I need to get current with my ‘creditors’. Now, I don’t not pay off my bills each month, I do. But since I work as an Independent Provider through two County Boards of Developmental Disabilities here in Columbus, my taxes do not get taken out each paycheck. Therefore, I have to get current with the amount of money I will owe the IRS come tax day. I have a plan, and I am no longer as frightened as I was about a month ago when I had to use my already saved ‘tax day money’ for medical bills I did not plan to have. I have typed my ‘baby steps’ and labeled them goals. I taped those goals to my closet door and am now forced to notice them every time I come into my room. As I complete each goal/baby step, I will cross it off and move on to the next one. I have written a start date and a completion date. I am under no illusion that this will be fast or easy. It is going to be very time-consuming, long and difficult. It will probably take me at least 2 years or more. However, I am very ready to spend the next few years working my butt off to become debt free. Are you?

The link to Dave’s ‘Baby Steps’: http://www.daveramsey.com/new/baby-steps/

Dave’s page: http://www.daveramsey.com/home/

And last but not least, here’s my plan for my Total Money Makeover:

Image

